Somalia Independence Day

Somalia became an independent, unified country on July 1, 1960. In colonial times, Somalia was divided up between Britain and Italy. The northern part of the region was British Somaliland, and other areas belonged to Italy. On July 1, 1960, both areas were united as the Republic of Somalia. Since a government overthrow in 1991, however, the country has disintegrated into the Republic of Somaliland and the Republic of Puntland, neither of which is recognized by what is left of the Republic of Somalia, represented by the transitional national government established in October 2000. Discuss

Dictionary Education Post – Today’s Holiday Feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *